The Iris Trilogy - Memoirs of Iris Murdoch

Author(s): John Bayley


The complete, heart-warming trilogy of John Bayley's touching memoirs chronicling his marriage to the great British novelist now available in a single volume. Dame Iris Murdoch (1919-1999) was one of the greatest British novelists and philosophers of the twentieth century. She read philosophy at Oxford where she met and later married John Bayley, a literary critic and fellow novelist. So began a forty-year, intense and unconventional but happy marriage, detailed in the classic bestselling memoir Iris. Despite Iris' extramarital affairs with men and women throughout their long marriage - which John always suspected - their bond was unbreakable, and his memoir beautifully captures their child-like moments of bliss: walking in forests, swimming together in streams, and sharing hot cups of coffee on crisp mornings. These are touching but poignant stories with the knowledge that Iris and her grand intellect would eventually succumb to Alzheimer's disease. John would care for her singlehandedly for five years, the last of which he writes about in Iris and the Friends that also describes her peaceful passing. Finally, he reflects on his bereavement and the void that is left when a soulmate departs in A Widower's House. All three books are told by the person who knew Iris best, with gentle humour - at times unbearably moving - in his portrayal of a remarkable woman. AUTHOR: John Bayley (1925-2015), CBE was a British literary critic and the author of Alice, The Queer Captain, George's Lair and The Red Hat. He was Warton Professor of English at Oxford University and was a fellow of St Catherine's college.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780715653968
  • : Duckworth Books
  • : Duckworth
  • : January 2021
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : John Bayley
  • : Hardback
  • : 823.914